Wie man kopflos wird, ohne es zu verlieren.

Headless bedeutet für verschiedene Unternehmen unterschiedliche Dinge, daher ist es nicht einfach, die beste Beratung zu finden und anzuwenden, zumal es so viele Mythen um das Thema gibt. Beginnen wir also mit einer Definition und sprechen über die vielen Vorteile, um zu vermeiden, dass Mythen zu einer schlechten Realität werden.

Headless ist eine moderne Architektur für die Bereitstellung von Commerce, bei der Front- und Backend entkoppelt wurden und dann APIs verwendet werden, um den Speicher und die Logik, die Commerce-Funktionalität, mit allen „Heads“ oder Präsentationsebenen zu verbinden, die Website, Social Commerce und abdecken von Marktplätzen bis hin zu IoT-Geräten, nativen Apps und Ladenkiosken – all die Kanäle, mit denen Kunden interagieren.

Durch diese Trennung von Front- und Backend lässt sich ein Mehrwert erzielen, der die Flexibilität bietet, die besten Komponenten auszuwählen, die ein Unternehmen wünscht und benötigt, wie z. B. Personalisierungsfunktionen und Suchwerkzeuge. Unternehmen haben dann auch die Flexibilität, diese Komponenten einfacher zu aktualisieren oder zu ändern – ohne den Rest ihres Stacks zu beeinträchtigen – wenn sich das Unternehmen anpasst und wächst. Es baut im Wesentlichen eine Reihe von Tools auf, die speziell für ein bestimmtes Unternehmen entwickelt wurden.

Da alles über APIs bereitgestellt wird, können alle Frontends auf konsistente Weise auf diese Dienste zurückgreifen und mit ihnen interagieren, wobei im Wesentlichen dieselben Daten aus denselben Tools abgerufen werden. Dies führt dazu, dass konsistentere und aussagekräftigere digitale Erlebnisse bereitgestellt werden können.

Dieser Ansatz bietet die folgenden großen Vorteile, nicht zuletzt, dass die Architektur weniger komplex ist und weniger Ressourcen für die Wartung benötigt.

Benefits

Fortlaufende Agilität ermöglicht es, Updates in Stunden oder Tagen live zu schalten – nicht in Wochen oder Monaten – und ermöglicht gleichzeitig kontinuierliche Optimierung und Innovation.

Unternehmen können den Wert schneller realisieren als mit einer vollständigen Plattform. Erhöhte Front-End-Leistung mit Ladezeiten von weniger als einer Sekunde, selbst bei erhöhtem Datenverkehr, was zu verbesserten Rankings von Suchmaschinen und verbesserter Kundenzufriedenheit führt. Lösungen können jetzt ohne Auswirkung auf die Reaktionszeit individuell skaliert werden, wodurch das Risiko gesenkt wird.

Die Agilität, sich zu bewegen und bei Bedarf auf den Markt und die Geschäftsanforderungen zu reagieren, erleichtert die Skalierung.

Kein langwieriger Plattformwechsel oder kostspielige Upgrade-Zyklen, und jeder Anbieter und jede Komponente kann einzeln verwaltet werden. Entwickler haben die Flexibilität, die Front-End-Tools, Frameworks und Sprachen auszuwählen, mit denen sie Erfahrung haben und die Geschäftsanforderungen erfüllen.

Es ist einfacher, echte und konsistente Omnichannel-Erlebnisse bereitzustellen, indem Sie über beliebig viele Kanäle hinweg arbeiten, seien es soziale Netzwerke, mobile Apps, Kioske, IoT usw., die alle dieselben leistungsstarken Daten und Back-End-Logik verwenden.

Freiheit, Ihre eigene UX zu erstellen.

Personalisierung im großen Maßstab mithilfe von Echtzeitdaten und anschließende Optimierung der Nutzung AI und maschinelles Lernen.

Workflows werden optimiert, sodass sowohl technische als auch geschäftliche Teams mit weniger Engpässen parallel arbeiten können. Vermarkter können mit Tools wie einem Headless-CMS erstellen, ohne sich auf Entwickler verlassen zu müssen.

Busting Mythen

Es ist wichtig, sich daran zu erinnern, dass es bei Headless nicht um alles oder nichts geht; Sie müssen das richtige Niveau für das Geschäft auswählen, also lassen Sie uns mit einigen dieser Mythen aufräumen, zumal Headless, richtig gemacht, wunderbar ist. Headless falsch gemacht ist katastrophal. Ein großer Teil des Erfolgs von Headless ist zu verstehen, welches Headless-Level für Ihr Unternehmen geeignet ist.

„Das spart jede Menge Geld“

Eine gut ausgeführte Headless-Strategie kann helfen, Kosten zu sparen, aber wenn dies die wichtigste Erfolgsmaßnahme und das einzige Ziel ist, dann gibt es möglicherweise auch besser geeignete Optionen. Unterschätzen Sie am besten nicht die Investitionen, die Headless in Bezug auf Kosten und Aufwand erfordern, sowie die Betriebs- und Eigentumsaspekte einer Headless-Architektur.

„Es wird einfacher und schneller zu implementieren sein“

Eine Headless-Architektur ist komplexer als eine herkömmliche Plattform, da sie die Kontrolle über mehr bewegliche Teile und mehr Integrationen zwischen allen Anbietern erfordert. Darüber hinaus wird ein vollständig kopfloser Ansatz einige Zeit in Anspruch nehmen; Headless ermöglicht jedoch einen Go-Live mit einem kleinen Teil der Architektur innerhalb von Monaten, wodurch sich relativ schnell ein Wert ergibt.

„Es ist ein Wundermittel für bessere Leistung“

Mit einer Headless-Architektur kann eine bessere Leistung geliefert werden, aber Headless allein garantiert nicht, dass sie geliefert wird. Es braucht immer noch jemanden mit einer Lupe, der durch jede Schicht geht und sicherstellt, dass es keine Engpässe gibt.

„Es ist zu schwierig, mehrere Plattformen und Tools zu verwalten“

Die Verwaltung von mehr Plattformen und Anbietern kann schwierig sein, aber der Schwierigkeitsgrad hängt davon ab, was das Team verwalten kann. Teams, die sich auf große Headless-Migrationen einlassen, benötigen ein gewisses Maß an digitaler Reife (oder müssen auf externe Ressourcen zurückgreifen), um nicht nur die anfängliche Migration durchzuführen, sondern alles am Laufen zu halten.

„Mit Headless kann ich mein Geschäft so führen, wie es ist“

Headless trifft viele Unternehmen unvorbereitet, wenn es darum geht, den organisatorischen und mentalen Wandel nicht zu verstehen, der erforderlich ist, um sein volles Potenzial auszuschöpfen. Unternehmen werden ihre Arbeitsweisen, Prozesse und wahrscheinlich auch Teams anpassen müssen.

„Es gibt Geschäftsteams nicht die Tools, die sie brauchen“

Die Trennung von Front- und Backend hat für Geschäftsanwender einige Probleme verursacht, wodurch sie die einfachen Bearbeitungswerkzeuge verloren haben, an die sie gewöhnt waren, und letztendlich die Kontrolle über das Kundenerlebnis verloren haben. Dafür gibt es aber Lösungen.

Jedes Unternehmen ist anders und einzigartig und es gibt keinen einheitlichen Ansatz oder Lösung. Nehmen Sie sich die Zeit, um zu skizzieren, was Sie erreichen möchten, warum Sie denken, dass dies der richtige Ansatz für Ihr Unternehmen ist und wie der Fahrplan aussehen wird, um Sie dorthin zu bringen. Weitere Informationen zu Headless und den potenziellen Vorteilen, die Unternehmen aus diesem Ansatz ziehen können, finden Sie unter Was Sie erwarten können, wenn Sie Headless machen.

Von: Peter Youell, EVP Technology bei Astound Commerce.

WAICF – Tauchen Sie ein in die KI und besuchen Sie eines der ...

Delia Salinas • 10. März 2022

Cannes veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine internationale Technologieveranstaltung namens World Artificial Intelligence Cannes Festival, besser bekannt unter dem Akronym WAICF. Eine der luxuriösesten Städte der Welt, an der französischen Riviera gelegen und Gastgeber der jährlichen Filmfestspiele von Cannes, der Midem und des Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity. 

Die Evolution von VR und AR

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 28. Oktober 2021

Wir sehen uns an, wie sich die Extended-Reality-Technologien VR und AR vom reinen Gaming zu einer langsamen Integration in andere Aspekte unseres Lebens entwickelt haben.

How to go headless without losing it.

An image of , Cloud, How to go headless without losing it.

Headless means different things to different businesses, so finding the best advice and applying it is not easy, particularly as there are so many myths around the subject. So let’s start with a definition and talk about the many benefits to avoid turning myths into a bad reality.

Headless is a modern architecture for delivering commerce where the front and back ends have been decoupled, and then APIs are used to connect the storage and logic, the commerce functionality, with all the “heads” or presentation layers, covering website, social commerce and marketplaces to IoT devices, native apps and in-store kiosks – all the channels customers are interacting with.

This separation of the front and back end is how to achieve value, giving the flexibility to choose the best-of-breed components a business wants and needs, such as personalisation functionality and search tools. Businesses also then have the flexibility to update or change these components more easily – without affecting the rest of its stack – as the business adapts and grows. It’s essentially building a suite of tools specifically designed for a specific business.

As everything is being served over APIs, all the front ends can draw on and interact with those services in a consistent way, essentially pulling on the same data from the same tools. This adds up to being able to deliver more consistent and more meaningful digital experiences.

This approach offers some great benefits as follows, not least that the architecture is less complex so it requires less resources to maintain.

Benefits

Ongoing agility enables updates to go live in hours or days—not weeks or months—whilst still enabling continuous optimization and innovation.

Businesses can realize value more quickly than a full platform Increased front-end performance with sub-second load times, even with increased traffic, leading to improved rankings from search engines and improved customer satisfaction. Solutions can now be scaled individually with no effect to response time, cutting risk.

Agility to move and react to the market and to business needs as needed makes scaling easier.

No lengthy re-platforming or costly upgrade cycles and each vendor and component can be managed individually. Developers have the flexibility to choose the front-end tools, frameworks, and languages that they have experience in and meet business needs.

Easier to deliver true and consistent omnichannel experiences by operating across as many channels as you want, be it social, mobile apps, kiosks, IoT, etc., all utilizing the same powerful data and back-end logic.

Freedom to build your own UX.

Personalize at scale using real-time data, and then optimize using AI and machine learning.

Workflows are streamlined so both technical and business teams can work in parallel, with fewer bottlenecks. Marketers are free to create using tools like a headless CMS without relying on developers.

Busting Myths

It’s important to remember that it’s not all or nothing with headless; you need to pick the right level to suit the business, so let’s bust some of those myths, especially since headless done right is wonderful. Headless done wrong is catastrophic. A big part of ensuring the success of headless is understanding what level of headless is going to suit your business.

“It will save loads of money”

A well-executed headless strategy can help save costs, but if that is the key success measure and the only goal, then there also may be better-suited options out there. Best not to underestimate the investment headless will require in terms of both cost and effort, nor the operational and ownership aspects of a headless architecture.

“It will be easier and quicker to implement”

A headless architecture is more complex than a traditional platform because it requires control of more moving parts and more integrations between all the vendors. In addition, a full headless approach will take time; however, headless does enable a go-live with a small part of the architecture within months, seeing value relatively quickly as a result.

“It’s a magic bullet for better performance”

Better performance can be delivered with a headless architecture, but going headless alone does not guarantee it will be delivered. It still needs someone with a magnifying glass to go through each layer and make sure there are no bottlenecks.

“It’s too hard to manage multiple platforms and tools”

Managing more platforms and vendors can be difficult but the degree of difficulty depends on what the team can manage. Teams that embark on big headless migrations will need a level of digital maturity (or to draw on external resources) in order to not only do the initial migration but keep everything going.

“I can run my business as is with headless”

Headless is catching a lot of businesses off guard when it comes to not understanding the organizational and mindset shift needed to realize its full potential. Companies will need to adapt their ways of working, processes, and probably teams too.

“It doesn’t give business teams the tools they need”

Separating the front and back ends has caused some issues for business users, whereby they lost the easy editing tools they were used to and ultimately lost control of the customer experience. However, there are solutions that cater for this.

Each business is different and unique and there is no one-size-fits-all approach or solution. Take the time to outline what you want to achieve, why you think this is the right approach for your business, and what the roadmap will be for getting you there. For more information on headless and the potential benefits businesses can unlock from this approach, download What to expect when going headless.

By: Peter Youell, EVP Technology at Astound Commerce.

AI alignment: teaching tech human language

Daniel Langkilde • 05th February 2024

However, Embodied AI refers to robots, virtual assistants or other intelligent systems that can interact with and learn from a physical environment. In order to do this, they’re built with sensors that can gather data from their surroundings, with this they also have AI systems that help them analyse data they collect, and ultimately learn...

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics

Jason Weekes • 01st February 2024

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics, expanding expertise in Beauty, Fashion, and Lifestyle sectors The combined organisation is set to redefine the landscape of media intelligence, providing unparalleled expertise and comprehensive insights for PR professional and marketers in the exciting world of beauty, fashion and lifestyle.

Managing Private Content Exposure Risk in 2024

Tim Freestone • 31st January 2024

Managing the privacy and compliance of sensitive content communications is getting more and more difficult for businesses. Cybercriminals continue to evolve their approaches, making it harder than ever to identify, stop, and mitigate the damages of malicious attacks. But, what are the key issues for IT admins to look out for in 2024?

Revolutionizing Ground Warfare Environment with Software-Enabled Armored Vehicles

Wind River • 31st January 2024

Armoured vehicles which are purpose-built for mission-critical operations are reliant on control systems that provide deterministic behaviour to meet hard real-time requirements, deliver extreme reliability, and meet rigorous security requirements against evolving threats. Wind River® has the partners and the expertise, a proven real-time operating system (RTOS), software lifecycle management techniques, and an extensive track...

The need to prove environmental accountability

Matt Tormollen • 31st January 2024

We are currently in the midst of one of the most consequential energy transitions since records began. The increasing availability of clean electrons has motivated businesses in the UK and beyond to think green. And for good reason. Being environmentally conscious attracts customers, appeases regulators, retains staff, and can even gain handouts from government. The...

Fuelling Innovation in Aftermarket

Jim Monaghan • 31st January 2024

One section of the motor trade is benefitting from the cost-of-living crisis: with consumers keeping their cars for longer, independent repairers are in huge demand. But they are also under pressure. Older cars need more repairs. They require more replacement parts, tyres and fluids. With car owners looking for value and a fast turn-around, independents...

The return of the five-day office week

Virgin Media • 25th January 2024

Virgin Media O2 Business has today published its inaugural Annual Movers Index, revealing four in ten companies are back to the office full time, despite widespread travel delays and disruptions With 2023 cementing the cost-of-living crisis, second hand shopping and public transport use surged as Brits sought to save money Using aggregated and anonymised UK...