Erhöhung der Sicherheit für Single Page Applications

Websicherheit

Gary Archer, Product Marketing Engineer bei Curity, gibt uns Einblicke in User Experience (UX) und Sicherheit auf Webseiten.

Das Internetzeitalter hat dafür gesorgt, dass wir mit modernster Technologie, Webgeschwindigkeit und Zugänglichkeit die Qual der Wahl haben. Bei so vielen verfügbaren Optionen werden für die meisten Online-Benutzer schnelle und zuverlässige Webseiten erwartet. Und warum sollten sie es nicht sein? Wenn Wettbewerber eine schnelle und reaktionsschnelle Plattform für Benutzer bereitstellen können, über die sie auf ihre Produkte oder Dienstleistungen zugreifen können, dann können Sie das auch.

Verzögernde Webseiten können die Ursache für zunehmende Frustrationen, Kundenunzufriedenheit, ein schlechtes Markenimage und für manche sogar das Verlassen der Website sein. Die Aufmerksamkeitsökonomie hat ein reibungsloses Online-Erlebnis zu einer Anforderung an die moderne Internetnutzung gemacht. Sie können Ihr Unternehmen nicht an der ersten Hürde scheitern lassen, bevor sich die Kunden das Angebot angesehen haben.

Single Page Applications (SPAs) sind zur beliebtesten Methode geworden, um Websites zu erstellen, die sich für den Endbenutzer schneller anfühlen, ohne den Server jedes Mal zu treffen, wenn ein Benutzer mit einer Anwendung interagiert. Die Geschwindigkeit einer Website ist Teil der besten User Experience (UX). Entwickler haben die Kontrolle über das Browserverhalten und sind für die Verbesserung der UX verantwortlich. Der Einsatz moderner Technologien wie React hilft und führt zu einer guten Entwicklererfahrung.

In Abkehr vom traditionellen Cookie-basierten Ansatz haben SPAs kein dediziertes Backend und verwenden stattdessen Zugriffstoken, um APIs im Namen eines authentifizierten Benutzers aufzurufen und die relevanten Daten zurückzugeben. SPAs haben eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Verbesserung des Kundenerlebnisses gespielt, indem sie dafür gesorgt haben, dass Websites in hohem Maße auf Aktionen von Endbenutzern reagieren. Die Verlagerung von der Handhabung der Autorisierung mit Cookies hin zu Zugriffstoken hat jedoch schwerwiegende Auswirkungen auf die Sicherheit.

Zuallererst arbeitet der Frontend-Code in einer unsicheren Umgebung: dem Browser eines Benutzers. SPAs verfügen häufig über ein Aktualisierungstoken, das Offlinezugriff auf die Ressourcen eines Benutzers gewährt und neue Zugriffstoken ohne Interaktion des Benutzers abrufen kann. Da diese Zugangsdaten von der SPA gelesen werden können, sind sie anfällig für Cross-Site-Scripting (XSS)-Angriffe, die gefährliche Auswirkungen haben können – Angreifer erhalten Zugriff auf die persönlichen Daten und Funktionen der Benutzer, auf die normalerweise nicht über die Benutzeroberfläche zugegriffen werden kann. Da der Online-Datenpool wächst und Hacker immer raffinierter werden, muss die Sicherheit ernst genommen werden, um die Informationen der Kunden und den Ruf des Unternehmens zu schützen.

Das Entwerfen von Sicherheitslösungen für SPAs ist jedoch keine leichte Aufgabe. Neben der stärksten Browsersicherheit und einfachem und zuverlässigem Code müssen Softwareentwickler die Bereitstellung der besten Benutzererfahrung in Betracht ziehen – und all dies in eine Lösung packen, die überall bereitgestellt werden kann. Die Webinhalte der SPA können über ein Content Delivery Network (CDN) an vielen Standorten weltweit bereitgestellt werden. Webinhalte befinden sich dann geografisch in angemessener Nähe zu allen Benutzern, sodass Webdownloads schneller sind.

Die aktuelle Best Practice besteht darin, dass SPAs Token vor bösartigem Code schützen. Es gibt andere Möglichkeiten, dies zu tun, aber die Verwendung von Tokens im Browser wird als weniger sicher empfunden. Token können geschützt werden, indem eine Backend-Komponente hinzugefügt wird, um Token zu handhaben und sichere Cookies an das Frontend auszugeben – oft als Backend-for-Frontend-Ansatz (BFF) bezeichnet.

Viele Entwickler verwenden Website-Stacks mit einem „Web-Backend“, das sowohl statische Inhalte bereitstellt als auch sichere Cookies schreibt – was das Sicherheitsproblem im Prinzip löst. Website-Stacks sind jedoch einfach nicht für die Trennung von Web- und API-Belangen konzipiert, durch die SPAs gekennzeichnet sind.

Das Token Handler Pattern ist eine moderne Weiterentwicklung von BFF, bei der die OpenID Connect-Sicherheit API-gesteuert implementiert wird. Bei diesem Ansatz läuft die gesamte Kommunikation von der SPA zum Autorisierungsserver über den Token-Handler.

Dadurch entfällt die Notwendigkeit, dass Token die SPA erreichen, da der Token-Handler stattdessen Sitzungscookies an die SPA ausgibt. Die Cookies werden bei Anfragen an APIs verwendet und gegen ein Zugriffstoken ausgetauscht, vorzugsweise durch ein dediziertes Plugin im API-Gateway, damit der API-Code einfach gehalten wird. Da der Token-Handler-Code nicht im Browser verfügbar ist, kann er als vertraulicher Client für die SPA fungieren, wodurch die Sicherheit der Token-Ausgabe weiter erhöht wird.

Das Ergebnis? Das Token-Handler-Pattern bietet SPAs ein ähnliches Sicherheitsniveau wie normale Web-Apps, ohne dass ein umständliches Backend für die Verarbeitung erforderlich ist. Dies sorgt für Seelenfrieden und behält gleichzeitig die überaus wichtigen Vorteile des Kundenerlebnisses bei, für die SPAs geschätzt werden. Und der Token-Handler-Ansatz ist wirklich flexibel: Die Implementierung kann zustandsbehaftet oder zustandslos sein, mit der Option, Token-Handler-Komponenten auf unterschiedliche Weise bereitzustellen, um sie an einzelne Websites anzupassen.

Benutzer werden heutzutage keine trägen Webseiten akzeptieren. Wir haben festgestellt, dass Geschwindigkeit äußerst wichtig ist, um online wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Sie sollte jedoch niemals vor der Sicherheit priorisiert werden. Wenn Nutzer Unternehmen geschützte personenbezogene Daten anvertrauen, erwarten sie, dass ihre Daten bestmöglich geschützt sind. Da es keine aktuelle Methode für Browser gibt, Token sicher zu speichern, ist es am besten, sie vorerst ganz aus den Browsern herauszulassen. Cookies und Sessions müssen zurückgebracht werden, aber wir müssen dies dynamischer tun – und genau das bringt das Token Handler Pattern auf den Tisch. Die Technologie entwickelt sich schnell, aber dies ist die beste Lösung, die uns zur Verfügung steht, bis unsere Browser sicherer werden können.

Klicken Sie hier, um mehr von unseren Podcasts zu entdecken

Vergessen Sie nicht, unser tägliches Bulletin zu abonnieren, um weitere Neuigkeiten von Top Business Tech zu erhalten!

Folge uns auf  LinkedIn und Twitter

WAICF – Tauchen Sie ein in die KI und besuchen Sie eines der ...

Delia Salinas • 10. März 2022

Cannes veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine internationale Technologieveranstaltung namens World Artificial Intelligence Cannes Festival, besser bekannt unter dem Akronym WAICF. Eine der luxuriösesten Städte der Welt, an der französischen Riviera gelegen und Gastgeber der jährlichen Filmfestspiele von Cannes, der Midem und des Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity. 

Die Evolution von VR und AR

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 28. Oktober 2021

Wir sehen uns an, wie sich die Extended-Reality-Technologien VR und AR vom reinen Gaming zu einer langsamen Integration in andere Aspekte unseres Lebens entwickelt haben.

Increasing security for Single Page Applications

web security

Gary Archer, Product marketing Engineer at Curity, gives us insights into User Experience (UX) and Security on web pages.

The internet age has ensured we are spoilt for choice with cutting-edge technology, web speed, and accessibility. With so many options available, fast and reliable web pages are expected for most users online. And why shouldn’t they be? If competitors can deliver a fast and responsive platform for users to access their products or services, then so can you.

Lagging web pages can be the source of mounting frustrations, customer dissatisfaction, a poor brand image, and for some, clicking off from the website altogether. The attention economy has made a frictionless online experience a requirement of modern internet usage. You can’t let your company fall at the first hurdle before customers have had a chance to look at what is on offer.

Single Page Applications (SPAs) have become the most popular way to create websites that feel faster for the end-user without hitting the server every time a user interacts with an application. The speed of a website is part of the best User Experience (UX). Developers have control over browser behavior and are responsible for improving UX. Using modern technologies such as React helps and leads to a good developer experience.

Shifting away from the traditional cookie-based approach, SPAs have no dedicated backend and instead use access tokens to call APIs on behalf of an authenticated user and return the relevant data. SPAs have played a pivotal role in improving the customer experience by ensuring that websites are highly responsive to end-user actions. However, the shift from handling authorization with cookies to access tokens has severe security implications.

First and foremost, the frontend code operates in an insecure environment: a user’s browser. SPAs often possess a refresh token that grants offline access to a user’s resources and can obtain new access tokens without interaction from the user. As these credentials are readable by the SPA, they are vulnerable to Cross-Site Scripting (XSS) attacks, which can have dangerous repercussions – with attackers gaining access to users’ personal data and functionalities not normally accessible through the user interface. As the online data pool grows and hackers become more sophisticated, security must be taken seriously to protect customers’ information and businesses’ reputations.

However, designing security solutions for SPAs is no easy feat. As well as the strongest browser security and simple and reliable code, software developers must consider delivering the best user experience – wrapping all this into a solution that can be deployed anywhere. The SPA’s web content can be deployed to many global locations via a Content Delivery Network (CDN). Web content is then reasonably close geographically to all users so that web downloads are faster.

The current best practice is for SPAs to protect tokens from malicious code. There are other ways to do this, but using tokens in the browser is perceived as less secure. Tokens can be protected by adding a backend component to handle tokens and issue secure cookies to the frontend – often referred to as a Backend for Frontend (BFF) approach.

Many developers use website stacks with a ‘web backend’ that both serves static content and writes secure cookies – which, in principle, solves the security problem. However, website stacks simply aren’t designed for the separation of Web and API concerns that SPAs are characterized by.

The Token Handler Pattern is a modern evolution of BFF, where OpenID Connect security is implemented in an API-driven manner. Using this approach, all communication from the SPA to the Authorisation Server goes through the token handler.

This eliminates the need for tokens to reach the SPA, with the token handler instead issuing session cookies to the SPA. The cookies are used during requests to APIs and are exchanged for an access token, preferably by a dedicated plugin in the API gateway, so that the API code is kept simple. As the token handler code is not available in the browser, it can act as a confidential client for the SPA, further increasing the security of token issuance.

The result? The Token Handler Pattern provides SPAs with a level of security similar to regular web apps without the need for a cumbersome backend to process it. This provides peace of mind while maintaining the all-important customer experience benefits that SPAs are cherished for. And the token handler approach is really flexible: implementation can be stateful or stateless, with the option of token handler components being deployed in different ways to suit individual websites.

Users will not accept sluggish web pages in this day and age. We have established that speed is super important in staying competitive online. However, it should never be prioritized ahead of security. When users entrust businesses with protected personal information, they expect their data to be protected in the best way possible. With no current method for browsers to store tokens securely, it is best for them to be left out of browsers altogether for the time being. Cookies and sessions must be brought back, but we must do this in a more dynamic way – which is precisely what the Token Handler Pattern brings to the table. Technology develops rapidly, but this is the best solution at our disposal until our browsers can become more secure.

Click here to discover more of our podcasts

For more news from Top Business Tech, don’t forget to subscribe to our daily bulletin!

Follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter

More Than 30% of Malicious Attacks Target Shadow APIs

Ameya Talwalkar • 04th October 2022

The latest research paper by Cequence Security details the top API threats detected during the first half of 2022. The report is based on analysis of more than 20 billion API transactions and reveals organisations are being plagued by shadow APIs, API abuse and Account Takeover (ATO) etc. It provides some real insights into the...

Supply Chain Commerce & The Green Imperative

Ann Sung Ruckstuhl • 04th October 2022

We are in the midst of a real-time, seismic shift as consumers transform expectations of global supply and demand models. The pandemic exposed the fragility of many supply chain networks. An inability to sense and dynamically adjust to shifting demand signals, consumer preferences, labour requirements, transportation, storage, inventory and trade policy changes caused havoc to...

How tech firms can manage a globally distributed workforce

Elise Muller • 03rd October 2022

For employees, remote working provides far greater work/life balance and fits the requirements of modern workers much better. This has all given rise to globally distributed workforces. But managing such a workforce can be challenging. Here are our five main tips on doing so successfully.

Hacking Cyber Security’s battle for workers

Andrew Marsh • 30th September 2022

Cyber attacks are increasing exponentially, cyber professionals are quitting, and ultimately, no one is replacing them. Worldwide, the cyber workforce shortfall is approximately 3.5 million people. We have a mountain to climb. While there are rising numbers of people with security degrees and qualifications, this falls way short of industry demand.

Getac becomes British Touring Car Championship official technology partner

Chris Gibbs • 29th September 2022

In competitive motorsports, the smallest detail can be the difference between winning and losing. Getac is the official technology partner to the British Touring Car Championships (BTCC) helping it achieve its digital transformation goals, putting a wealth of information at the fingertips of both race officials and teams alike, and helping deliver incredibly exciting racing.

The Time is Now for Digital Transformation

Paul Waddilove • 29th September 2022

According to a McKinsey research report, 70% of enterprises that had taken on digital transformation reported in 2020 that their momentum had stalled. It is worth understanding the reasons–culture or scale for example–causing the slowdown as the payoffs from digital transformation can be impressive. It can lead to more efficient operations, with enterprises enjoying autonomy...

Addressing the environmental impact of the data centre

David Watkins • 29th September 2022

David Watkins, solutions director at VIRTUS Data Centres , share how you may have seen the recent news that Thames Water has launched a probe into the impact of data centres on water supplies in and around London, as it imposed a hosepipe ban on its 15 million customers in a drought-hit area. Ensuring that...