Schließung der Qualifikationslücke in der Technologiebranche

Die neu ernannte Head of People bei Passenger, Katie Killinger, erläutert, wie Unternehmen dazu beitragen können, die Qualifikationslücke in der Technologiebranche zu schließen.

Die neu ernannte Head of People bei Passenger, Katie Killinger, erläutert, wie Unternehmen dazu beitragen können, die Qualifikationslücke in der Technologiebranche zu schließen.

Da die Technologiebranche weiterhin mit einem Massenmangel an Fachkräften zu kämpfen hat, hat Katie Killinger, Head of People bei Passagier, teilt ihre Ansicht darüber, wie Unternehmen mehr Menschen dazu inspirieren können, ihre technischen Fähigkeiten zu erweitern. 

Der Technologiesektor leidet seit vielen Jahren unter Rekrutierungsproblemen, und leider hat die Pandemie diese Probleme nur verschärft und viele Unternehmen an ihre Grenzen gebracht. 2021 fegte „The Great Resignation“ über das Vereinigte Königreich hinweg, wobei viele Arbeitnehmer einen Jobwechsel planten, da die Zahl der Möglichkeiten die Nachfrage überstieg. Laut einer Studie von Randstad plante im November 1 von 4 Arbeitnehmern in Großbritannien einen Jobwechsel, und diejenigen in der Technologiebranche gehörten zu denen, die behaupteten, am zuversichtlichsten zu sein, neue Möglichkeiten zu finden. Da gibt es keine Überraschungen, denn technische Fähigkeiten sind für ein breites Spektrum von Branchen unverzichtbar – aber leider gibt es einfach nicht genug qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte, um den Bedarf an Talenten zu decken.

Warum gibt es so wenige Fachkräfte? Mangelndes Vertrauen ist ein wesentlicher Grund. Wenn viele Menschen an die Technologiebranche denken, sehen sie sie voller komplizierter Daten und Formeln, die eine bestimmte Denkweise und Mentalität erfordern, um sie zu verstehen. Hinzu kommt, dass es in der Branche immer noch an Geschlechterdiversität mangelt – und damit an dem Wunsch, mehr Frauen in der Branche zu qualifizieren. Außerdem verschieben Covid Beschränkungen haben dazu geführt, dass wertvolle Treffen und Veranstaltungen der Tech-Community ausgesetzt werden mussten, sodass Gelegenheiten, durch Informationsaustausch von anderen zu lernen, verpasst werden.

Um diese Probleme zu lösen, müssen Technologieunternehmen in erster Linie ihre Mitarbeiter befähigen, mit gutem Beispiel voranzugehen und anderen zu zeigen, was sie erreichen können, um ihr Vertrauen aufzubauen. Darüber hinaus ist es wichtig, Mitarbeiter mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund zu präsentieren, um sicherzustellen, dass sie bei einer breiteren Bevölkerungsgruppe Anklang finden, z. B. bei einer erfolgreichen weiblichen Führungskraft oder einer Mitarbeiterin, die das Unternehmen ohne wesentliche technische Vorkenntnisse durchlaufen hat. 

Es ist auch wichtig, diese Menschen in einem frühen Alter für zukünftige Generationen hervorzuheben, indem sie mit Schulen und Universitäten zusammenarbeiten und ihnen Vorbilder geben, die sie anstreben können. Bei Passenger haben wir eine engagierte Inklusionsgilde. Dies ist eine Arbeitsgruppe, die Initiativen auf den Weg bringt, wie z. B. Strategien zur Verbesserung des Onboardings von Neueinsteigern und zur besseren Identifizierung von Diversitätslücken, um uns beim Aufbau einer integrativen Belegschaft – und damit eines integrativen Produkts – zu helfen.

Darüber hinaus ist es wichtig, offen zu bleiben. Potenzielle Rekruten verfügen möglicherweise nicht über spezifische technische Fähigkeiten, aber das bedeutet nicht, dass sie diese nicht mit der erforderlichen Schulung und Betreuung durch bestehende Mitarbeiter erlernen können. Es kann fast zu Gunsten dieses Unternehmens dienen, jemanden einzustellen, der nicht über bestimmte technische Fähigkeiten für bestimmte Rollen verfügt, z. B. im Betrieb oder im Kundendienst. Dies bedeutet, dass sie mit einer frischen Perspektive in das Geschäft einsteigen und technische Besonderheiten verstehen können, sodass sie diese Kunden besser erklären können – ohne jegliche Elemente des Fachjargons. 

Bei Passenger haben wir verschiedene Mitarbeiter eingestellt, die keinen traditionellen technischen Hintergrund haben, um den Betreibern öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel dabei zu helfen, unsere Technologielösungen besser zu verstehen. Wir weiten unsere Rekrutierungsbemühungen auch außerhalb von Dorset aus, indem wir Stellen ausschreiben, die vollständig aus der Ferne stammen, was uns hilft, auf einen größeren Pool an technischen Talenten im ganzen Land zuzugreifen. Unsere Belegschaft hat sich aufgrund unserer breiter angelegten Rekrutierungsstrategie positiv entwickelt, wobei zwei Fünftel unserer Mitarbeiter seit der Einführung von Passenger im Jahr 2015 in leitende Positionen aufgestiegen sind – einschließlich unserer Engineering-, Design- und Kundenteams. 

Darüber hinaus haben wir durch unsere Dienstleistungen dazu beigetragen, die Fähigkeiten der Mitarbeiter der Bediener zu erweitern. Als beispielsweise letztes Jahr die Pandemie ausbrach, veranstalteten wir Schulungen mit 85 Mitarbeitern des Betreibers, um sie in Content-Management-Aufgaben weiterzubilden und denjenigen zu helfen, die von Erkrankungen des Personals betroffen waren.

Um die Qualifikationslücke weiter zu schließen, müssen wir als Branche zusammenarbeiten, um wieder mehr Tech-Meetups und -Konferenzen einzuführen. Zum Beispiel hat Passenger in der Vergangenheit Entwicklerkonferenzen abgehalten und lokale Tech-Treffen wie PHPDorset, Mobile Dorset und hackbmth gesponsert, die alle Unternehmen ermutigen, Ideen und Wissen durch Gespräche und Ideen auszutauschen. 

WEITERLESEN:

Diese Veranstaltungen kommen nicht nur Startups zugute – jemand, der seit über 20 Jahren in der Technologiebranche tätig ist, kann genauso viel gewinnen, indem er seine eigenen Erfahrungen diskutiert und andere von denen mit frischen Erkenntnissen und neuen Perspektiven hört. Obwohl wir in einer wettbewerbsintensiven Branche tätig sind, hängt der Erfolg unserer Unternehmen vom Erfolg der Branche ab – und wir können uns gegenseitig helfen, indem wir wertvolle Informationen austauschen und uns gegenseitig weiterbilden.

Vergessen Sie nicht, unser tägliches Bulletin zu abonnieren, um weitere Neuigkeiten von Top Business Tech zu erhalten!

Folge uns auf  LinkedIn und Twitter

Kati Killinger

Katie Killinger ist Head of People beim britischen ÖPNV-App- und Website-Anbieter Passenger

WAICF – Tauchen Sie ein in die KI und besuchen Sie eines der ...

Delia Salinas • 10. März 2022

Cannes veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine internationale Technologieveranstaltung namens World Artificial Intelligence Cannes Festival, besser bekannt unter dem Akronym WAICF. Eine der luxuriösesten Städte der Welt, an der französischen Riviera gelegen und Gastgeber der jährlichen Filmfestspiele von Cannes, der Midem und des Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity. 

Die Evolution von VR und AR

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 28. Oktober 2021

Wir sehen uns an, wie sich die Extended-Reality-Technologien VR und AR vom reinen Gaming zu einer langsamen Integration in andere Aspekte unseres Lebens entwickelt haben.

Plugging the tech industry skills gap

Passenger's newly appointed Head of People, Katie Killinger, discusses how businesses can help plug the tech industry's skills gap.

Passenger’s newly appointed Head of People, Katie Killinger, discusses how businesses can help plug the tech industry’s skills gap.

As the technology industry continues to battle a mass skills shortage, Katie Killinger, Head of People at Passenger, shares her view on how businesses can inspire more people to expand their tech skill sets. 

The technology sector has suffered from recruitment challenges for many years, and unfortunately, the pandemic has only intensified these issues, pushing many businesses to breaking point. 2021 saw ‘The Great Resignation’ sweep across the UK, with many workers planning job changes as the number of opportunities exceeded demand. According to research by Randstad, in November, 1 in 4 UK workers were planning a job change and those in the tech industry were among those who claimed to be most confident in finding new opportunities. There are no surprises there, as tech skills are indispensable for a huge spectrum of industries – but unfortunately, there simply aren’t enough sufficiently skilled workers to meet talent demand.

So why are there so few skilled workers? Lack of confidence is a key reason. When many people think of the tech industry, they see it filled with complicated data and formulas that take a specific mindset and mentality to understand. What’s more, there’s still a lack of gender diversity in the sector – therefore, a lack of desire for more women to become skilled in the industry. In addition, shifting COVID restrictions have meant valuable tech community meetups and events have had to be put on hold, so opportunities to learn from others through information sharing are being missed.

To help solve these problems, first and foremost, tech businesses need to empower their employees to lead by example and show others what they can achieve to help build their confidence. In addition, showcasing employees from various backgrounds is important to ensure they resonate with a wider demographic, such as a successful female senior employee or a worker who has progressed through the company without substantial prior tech experience. 

It’s also important to highlight those people to future generations at an early age by collaborating with schools and universities, giving them role models to aspire to. At Passenger, we have a dedicated Inclusion Guild. This is a working group that puts initiatives in place, such as strategies to improve new-starter onboarding and to better identify diversity gaps, to help us build an inclusive workforce – and in doing so, an inclusive product.

In addition, keeping an open mind is key. Potential recruits may not have specific technical skills, but it doesn’t mean they can’t learn them with the necessary training and mentoring from existing employees. It can almost serve in that company’s favor to hire someone who doesn’t hold specific tech skills for certain roles, such as in Operations or Customer Services. This means they can come into the business with a fresh perspective and gain an understanding of tech specifics, so they can better explain them to clients – removing all elements of technical jargon. 

At Passenger, we’ve hired various employees who don’t come from a traditional tech background to help public transport operators better understand our technology solutions. We’re also expanding our recruitment efforts outside of Dorset by advertising fully remote roles, helping us access a larger pool of tech talent across the country. Our workforce has thrived due to our broader recruitment strategy, with two-fifths of our employee base progressing to senior level positions since Passenger launched in 2015 – including within our engineering, design and customer teams. 

In addition, we’ve helped broaden operators’ workforce skillsets through our services. For instance, when the pandemic hit last year, we hosted training sessions with 85 operator staff members to upskill them on content management tasks, helping those impacted by staff sicknesses.

To further plug the skills gap, we need to work together as an industry to reinstate more tech meetups and conferences. For example, Passenger has held developer conferences in the past, alongside sponsoring local tech meetups including PHPDorset, Mobile Dorset and hackbmth – all of which encourage businesses to share ideas and knowledge through talks and ideas. 

READ MORE:

These events don’t solely benefit startups – someone who’s worked in the tech industry for over 20 years can gain just as much by discussing their own experiences and hearing others from those with fresh insights and new perspectives. Although we’re in a competitive industry, the success of our businesses relies on the success of the industry – and we can help each other by sharing valuable information and educating one another.

For more news from Top Business Tech, don’t forget to subscribe to our daily bulletin!

Follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter

An image of Skills, Business, Plugging the tech industry skills gap

Katie Killinger

Katie Killinger is the Head of People at UK public transport app and website provider, Passenger

AI alignment: teaching tech human language

Daniel Langkilde • 05th February 2024

However, Embodied AI refers to robots, virtual assistants or other intelligent systems that can interact with and learn from a physical environment. In order to do this, they’re built with sensors that can gather data from their surroundings, with this they also have AI systems that help them analyse data they collect, and ultimately learn...

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics

Jason Weekes • 01st February 2024

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics, expanding expertise in Beauty, Fashion, and Lifestyle sectors The combined organisation is set to redefine the landscape of media intelligence, providing unparalleled expertise and comprehensive insights for PR professional and marketers in the exciting world of beauty, fashion and lifestyle.

Managing Private Content Exposure Risk in 2024

Tim Freestone • 31st January 2024

Managing the privacy and compliance of sensitive content communications is getting more and more difficult for businesses. Cybercriminals continue to evolve their approaches, making it harder than ever to identify, stop, and mitigate the damages of malicious attacks. But, what are the key issues for IT admins to look out for in 2024?

Revolutionizing Ground Warfare Environment with Software-Enabled Armored Vehicles

Wind River • 31st January 2024

Armoured vehicles which are purpose-built for mission-critical operations are reliant on control systems that provide deterministic behaviour to meet hard real-time requirements, deliver extreme reliability, and meet rigorous security requirements against evolving threats. Wind River® has the partners and the expertise, a proven real-time operating system (RTOS), software lifecycle management techniques, and an extensive track...

The need to prove environmental accountability

Matt Tormollen • 31st January 2024

We are currently in the midst of one of the most consequential energy transitions since records began. The increasing availability of clean electrons has motivated businesses in the UK and beyond to think green. And for good reason. Being environmentally conscious attracts customers, appeases regulators, retains staff, and can even gain handouts from government. The...

Fuelling Innovation in Aftermarket

Jim Monaghan • 31st January 2024

One section of the motor trade is benefitting from the cost-of-living crisis: with consumers keeping their cars for longer, independent repairers are in huge demand. But they are also under pressure. Older cars need more repairs. They require more replacement parts, tyres and fluids. With car owners looking for value and a fast turn-around, independents...

The return of the five-day office week

Virgin Media • 25th January 2024

Virgin Media O2 Business has today published its inaugural Annual Movers Index, revealing four in ten companies are back to the office full time, despite widespread travel delays and disruptions With 2023 cementing the cost-of-living crisis, second hand shopping and public transport use surged as Brits sought to save money Using aggregated and anonymised UK...