Cloudbusting für B2B und B2C

Ich arbeite seit mehr als drei Jahrzehnten in der IT-Branche und habe in dieser Zeit eine Vielzahl von Innovationen miterlebt. Das exponentielle Wachstum von Cloud Technologie in den letzten Jahren war sicherlich eine der dramatischsten davon. Als ich Ende der 1980er Jahre meine IT-Reise begann, war der Begriff „Cloud Computing“ definitiv nicht allgemein gebräuchlich. Es ist immer noch ein relativ neuer Begriff, obwohl das Konzept selbst bis in die 1960er Jahre zurückreicht. Die erste öffentliche Verwendung des Ausdrucks wurde von Eric Schmidt, dem damaligen CEO von Google, auf einer Suchmaschinenkonferenz in San Jose, Kalifornien, im Jahr 2006 gemeldet.

Der globale Markt für Cloud-Dienste ist mit einem geschätzten Wert von 387.15 Milliarden US-Dollar im Jahr 2021 von absolut entscheidender Bedeutung für die Weltwirtschaft. Diese Zahl hat einen prognostizierten Wert von mehr als 1630 Milliarden US-Dollar bis zum Jahr 2030. Dies entspricht einem CAGR (Compound Annual). Wachstumsrate) von 17.32 % von 2022 bis 2030. Im Public-Cloud-Markt wird der Großteil des Umsatzes in den USA generiert. Laut Statista hat dies für 201.40 einen prognostizierten Wert von 2022 Milliarden US-Dollar.

Die Vorteile der Cloud-Nutzung sind vielfältig. Für B2B- (Business to Business) und B2C- (Business to Customer) Benutzer gleichermaßen ist es eine kostengünstige Möglichkeit, wertvolle Daten zu teilen. Unternehmen jeder Größe oder Einnahmequelle können sich problemlos für die Cloud entscheiden, ohne die Unternehmensfinanzen zu belasten. Es ist auch eine einfache Option, die nicht zu viel Zeit und Mühe seitens der Verwaltungsabteilung einer Organisation erfordert.

Für Unternehmen, die im Falle eines Problems weiterlaufen müssen, stellt die Cloud sicher, dass die Geschäftskontinuität möglich ist. In der Cloud kann eine Notfallwiederherstellungslösung erstellt werden, in der Daten und Konfigurationseinstellungen ständig repliziert werden können. Die Wiederherstellung kann im Hintergrund mit geringer oder keiner Geschäftsunterbrechung erfolgen. Die Cloud bedeutet, dass die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Kollegen viel effizienter ist – etwas, das so wichtig ist, wenn sich ein Termin für ein großes Unternehmensprojekt am Horizont abzeichnet. Das Schöne an der Cloud ist, dass sie flexibel und für jede Organisation skalierbar ist, von großen globalen multinationalen Konzernen bis hin zu lokalen Unternehmen.

Cloud Computing ermöglicht uns den Zugriff auf Cloud-basierte Kommunikationstools wie E-Mails und Arbeitskalender, während Messaging-Apps ebenfalls auf einer Cloud-Infrastruktur basieren. Wenn Sie jemals Geschäftsverwaltungsanwendungen wie Customer Relationship Management (CRM) und Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) verwendet haben, wurde Cloud Computing bereits in Ihre Managementstrategie integriert.

Neben Speicherung und Bereitstellung kann Cloud Computing das ideale Medium für Tests und Entwicklung sein. Durch nachhaltige Integration und Bereitstellung werden diese kostengünstiger, schneller und weniger mühsam. Die gemeinsame Nutzung von Cloud-Daten stellt sicher, dass ein Unternehmen seine eigene Leistung im Auge behalten, das Serviceniveau verbessern kann, das es seinen Kunden bieten kann, und es dem Unternehmen ermöglicht, innovativer zu werden.

Die am 2022. Juni veröffentlichte Business Data Survey 9 der britischen Regierung zeigt, dass 83 % der Unternehmen, die digitale Daten verwenden, eigenständige Geräte verwenden, um ihre Daten zu verarbeiten und zu speichern. 34 % gaben an, Cloud-Anbieter zu nutzen.

Als ich 2015 GAT Labs gründete, wurden unsere Produkte entwickelt, um Daten in Google Workspace zu prüfen und zu identifizieren. In den nächsten sieben Jahren hat das Unternehmen fortschrittliche Verwaltungssysteme entwickelt, die es Administratoren ermöglichen, Benutzer in großen Mengen ein- und auszuschalten, Ordnerbäume zu kopieren und Dateien freizugeben. Auf diese Weise gewährleisten diese Systemverbesserungen einen besseren Sicherheitsstandard für die Kunden

Unternehmen Zeit und Geld sparen. Mit größeren Möglichkeiten als je zuvor Von zuhause aus arbeiten oder als Teil eines hybriden Arbeitsmodells war die Cloud noch nie so wichtig.

Es gibt keinen einzigen Kunden oder Geschäftsinhaber auf der Welt, der sich beim Hochladen von Daten in die Cloud nicht so sicher wie möglich fühlen möchte. Davon zeugen die anhaltenden Bedrohungen durch Hacking und Informationsbetrug. Der Internet Crime Report des FBI für 2021 liefert Datenergebnisse, die sich am besten als „ernüchternd“ beschreiben lassen. Das Beschwerdezentrum für Internetkriminalität (IC3) des Büros erhielt im vergangenen Jahr 847,376 Beschwerden von der amerikanischen Öffentlichkeit – eine Steigerung von 7 % gegenüber 2020. Die potenziellen Verluste für diesen Zeitraum überstiegen 6.9 Milliarden US-Dollar, und diese Zahl betrug 1.4 2017 Milliarden US-Dollar. Zu den am häufigsten eingegangenen Beschwerden gehörten Ransomware, BEC-Schemata (Business E-Mail Compromise) und die kriminelle Verwendung von Kryptowährung. Solche schockierenden Statistiken unterstreichen wirklich die lebenswichtige Notwendigkeit einer strengen Cloud Datensicherheit sowohl für Unternehmen als auch für Kunden. Die Alternative ist, dass der Wirtschaft weiterhin Milliarden in die Hände von Cyberkriminellen gelangen.

Da das Thema derzeit weniger Berichterstattung als früher erhält, ist es leicht zu glauben, dass COVID-19 keine Rolle mehr in der Arbeitspraxis spielt. Die jüngsten (Juni 2022) Zahlen von Statista deuten jedoch darauf hin, dass die Pandemie immer noch erhebliche Auswirkungen hat. In Großbritannien gaben fast vier von zehn Arbeitnehmern (38 %) an, in den vorangegangenen sieben Tagen zu irgendeinem Zeitpunkt von zu Hause aus gearbeitet zu haben. Britische Arbeitnehmer, die in der Vorwoche zur Arbeit gereist sind, lag bei 71 %. Im April 2020, auf dem Höhepunkt der ersten COVID-19-Welle, arbeitete fast die Hälfte der Belegschaft von zu Hause aus, 31 Prozent reisten zur Arbeit.

Zusätzliche Zahlen von Statista zeigen, dass die zeitliche Flexibilität (67 %) und die Flexibilität bei der Wahl des Arbeitsorts (62 %) die beiden größten genannten Vorteile der weltweiten Telearbeit sind. Es folgen Zeitersparnis aufgrund fehlender Pendelmöglichkeiten (59 %) und Flexibilität in Bezug auf den Wohnort (55 %).

Ohne Cloud-Technologie wären solche Statistiken einfach nicht möglich. Seine Wirksamkeit scheint sich sicherlich positiv auf das Leben der Arbeitnehmer ausgewirkt zu haben und eine ganz neue Welt von Möglichkeiten und Optionen zu eröffnen, wenn es um die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf, Privatleben und Privatleben geht.

Was die Zukunft der Cloud betrifft, so glaube ich, dass die Hybrid- und Multi-Cloud-Infrastrukturmodelle in der Branche besonders wichtig sein werden. Ersteres mischt zwei oder mehr unterschiedliche Wolkentypen, während letzteres verschiedene Wolken des gleichen Typs mischt. Die Erhöhung der Sicherheit zur Abwehr von Angriffen ist einer der Hauptvorteile eines Multi-Cloud-Systems, das, wie oben erwähnt, die Weltwirtschaft derzeit Milliarden kostet.

Im Jahr 2022 muss nur noch sicher und effizient auf unsere Cloud-Daten zugegriffen werden. Von wo, eigentlich egal.

Von Robert Baker, CEO und Gründer von GAT Labs.

Robert Baker

Robert Baker ist CEO und Gründer von GAT Labs, einem spezialisierten Entwickler von allgemeinen Audit-Tools mit Hauptsitz in Irland. Das Unternehmen arbeitet mit Engineering-Tools für den Einsatz im Cloud-Sicherheitssektor und gewährleistet so ein qualitativ hochwertiges Google Workspace-Erlebnis. GAT Labs beschäftigt mehr als 30 Mitarbeiter und verfügt über Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtungen in Warschau, Polen.

WAICF – Tauchen Sie ein in die KI und besuchen Sie eines der ...

Delia Salinas • 10. März 2022

Cannes veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine internationale Technologieveranstaltung namens World Artificial Intelligence Cannes Festival, besser bekannt unter dem Akronym WAICF. Eine der luxuriösesten Städte der Welt, an der französischen Riviera gelegen und Gastgeber der jährlichen Filmfestspiele von Cannes, der Midem und des Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity. 

Die Evolution von VR und AR

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 28. Oktober 2021

Wir sehen uns an, wie sich die Extended-Reality-Technologien VR und AR vom reinen Gaming zu einer langsamen Integration in andere Aspekte unseres Lebens entwickelt haben.

Cloudbusting for B2B and B2C

An image of , Cloud, Cloudbusting for B2B and B2C

I have worked in the IT industry for more than three decades, and have witnessed a huge number of innovations in that time. The exponential growth of cloud technology in recent years has certainly been one of the most dramatic of these. When I started my IT journey in the late 1980s, the term ‘cloud computing’ was most definitely not in common usage. It’s still a relatively new term, although the concept itself dates as far back as the 1960s. The first reported public use of the phrase was by Eric Schmidt, who was then Google’s CEO, at a search engine conference in San Jose, California, in 2006.

The global cloud services market is absolutely vital to the world’s economy, with an estimated value of US$ 387.15 billion in 2021. This figure has a projected value of more than US$ 1630 billion by the year 2030. This represents a CAGR (compound annual growth rate) of 17.32% from 2022 to 2030. In the public cloud market, the majority of revenue will be generated in the United States. According to Statista, this has a projected value of US$201.40bn for 2022.

The benefits of cloud usage are many and varied. For B2B (Business to Business) and B2C (Business to Customer) users alike, it’s a cost-effective way of sharing valuable data. Businesses of any size or revenue stream can easily opt for the cloud without putting pressure on company finances. It’s also a simple option that doesn’t require too much time and effort on the part of an organization’s administration department.

For businesses that need to keep running in the event of a problem, the cloud ensures that business continuity is possible. A disaster recovery solution can be built in the cloud where data and configuration settings can be constantly replicated. Recovery can take place in the background with little or no business disruption. The cloud means collaboration between co-workers is far more efficient – something that is so important when a major company project deadline is looming on the horizon. The beauty of the cloud is that it is flexible and scalable to any organization, from large global multinationals to local businesses.

Cloud computing allows us to gain access to cloud-based communication tools such as emails and work calendars, while messaging apps are also built on cloud infrastructure. If you have ever used business management applications such as Customer Relationship Management (CRM) and Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP), cloud computing has already been incorporated into your management strategy.

As well as storage and deployment, cloud computing can be the ideal medium for testing and development. Sustained integration and delivery will make these less expensive, quicker and less arduous. Cloud data sharing ensures that a business can keep track of its own performance, improve the level of service it can offer its customers and allow the business to become more innovative.

The UK Government’s Business Data Survey 2022, published on June 9th, shows that 83% of businesses that use digital data, use standalone devices to process and store their data. 34% reported use of cloud providers.

When I founded GAT Labs in 2015, our products were created to audit and identify data in Google Workspace. Over the next seven years, the company has produced advanced management systems to allow administrators to onboard and offboard users in bulk, copy folder trees and share files. By doing so, these system improvements ensure a better standard of security for customers, while

saving companies both money and time. With greater opportunities than ever to work from home or as part of a hybrid working model, the cloud has never been more essential.

There isn’t a single customer or business owner in the world who doesn’t want to feel as secure as possible when uploading data to the cloud. The continuing threats posed by hacking and information fraud bear testament to this. The FBI’s Internet Crime Report for 2021 provides data results best described as ‘sobering’. The bureau’s Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) received 847,376 complaints from the American public last year – a 7% increase on 2020’s figure. Potential losses for this period exceeded US $6.9 billion, and this figure was US $1.4 billion in 2017. Among the most common complaints received were ransomware, business e-mail compromise (BEC) schemes, and the criminal use of cryptocurrency. Such shocking statistics truly emphasise the vital need for stringent cloud data security for both businesses and customers. The alternative is that billions will continue to be lost from the economy into the hands of cybercriminals.

Because the topic is currently receiving less news coverage than previously, it is easy to believe that COVID-19 is no longer a factor when it comes to working practices. But recent (June 2022) figures from Statista would suggest that the pandemic is still having significant effects. In Great Britain, almost four in ten (38%) of workers reported they had worked from home at some stage in the previous seven-day period. British workers travelling to work in the previous week was at 71%. In April 2020, at the peak of the first COVID-19 wave, almost half of the workforce worked from home, with 31 per cent traveling to work.

Additional figures from Statista showed time flexibility (67%) and flexibility to choose a work location (62%) were the two biggest benefits cited to working remotely worldwide. These were followed by time saved due to lack of a commute (59%) and flexibility related to where to live (55%).

Such statistics would simply not be possible without cloud technology. Its efficacy would certainly appear to have made a positive impact on worker’s lives, and open a whole new world of possibilities and options when it comes to a work-life-home balance.

As for the future of cloud, I feel the hybrid and multi cloud infrastructure models will be particularly important in the sector. The former blends two or more different types of clouds while the latter blends different clouds of the same type. Increasing security to repel attacks is one major benefit of a multi cloud system which, as discussed above, is currently costing the world economy billions.

In 2022, our cloud data just needs to be accessed safely and efficiently. From where, really doesn’t matter.

By Robert Baker, CEO and Founder of GAT Labs.

An image of , Cloud, Cloudbusting for B2B and B2C

Robert Baker

Robert Baker is CEO and Founder of GAT Labs, an Irish-headquartered, specialized general audit tool developer. The company operates by engineering tools for deployment in the cloud security sector, ensuring a high-quality Google Workspace experience. GAT Labs employs more than 30 people, and has research and development facilities in Warsaw, Poland.

More Than 30% of Malicious Attacks Target Shadow APIs

Ameya Talwalkar • 04th October 2022

The latest research paper by Cequence Security details the top API threats detected during the first half of 2022. The report is based on analysis of more than 20 billion API transactions and reveals organisations are being plagued by shadow APIs, API abuse and Account Takeover (ATO) etc. It provides some real insights into the...

Supply Chain Commerce & The Green Imperative

Ann Sung Ruckstuhl • 04th October 2022

We are in the midst of a real-time, seismic shift as consumers transform expectations of global supply and demand models. The pandemic exposed the fragility of many supply chain networks. An inability to sense and dynamically adjust to shifting demand signals, consumer preferences, labour requirements, transportation, storage, inventory and trade policy changes caused havoc to...

How tech firms can manage a globally distributed workforce

Elise Muller • 03rd October 2022

For employees, remote working provides far greater work/life balance and fits the requirements of modern workers much better. This has all given rise to globally distributed workforces. But managing such a workforce can be challenging. Here are our five main tips on doing so successfully.

Hacking Cyber Security’s battle for workers

Andrew Marsh • 30th September 2022

Cyber attacks are increasing exponentially, cyber professionals are quitting, and ultimately, no one is replacing them. Worldwide, the cyber workforce shortfall is approximately 3.5 million people. We have a mountain to climb. While there are rising numbers of people with security degrees and qualifications, this falls way short of industry demand.

Getac becomes British Touring Car Championship official technology partner

Chris Gibbs • 29th September 2022

In competitive motorsports, the smallest detail can be the difference between winning and losing. Getac is the official technology partner to the British Touring Car Championships (BTCC) helping it achieve its digital transformation goals, putting a wealth of information at the fingertips of both race officials and teams alike, and helping deliver incredibly exciting racing.

The Time is Now for Digital Transformation

Paul Waddilove • 29th September 2022

According to a McKinsey research report, 70% of enterprises that had taken on digital transformation reported in 2020 that their momentum had stalled. It is worth understanding the reasons–culture or scale for example–causing the slowdown as the payoffs from digital transformation can be impressive. It can lead to more efficient operations, with enterprises enjoying autonomy...

Addressing the environmental impact of the data centre

David Watkins • 29th September 2022

David Watkins, solutions director at VIRTUS Data Centres , share how you may have seen the recent news that Thames Water has launched a probe into the impact of data centres on water supplies in and around London, as it imposed a hosepipe ban on its 15 million customers in a drought-hit area. Ensuring that...